Lola and the Boy Next Door- Perkins, Stephanie

read on april 25, 2017

i actually liked lola’s story more than anna’s. to me, anna was a blubbering girl who just ruined everything she touched. it took me motivation to finish anna’s story. lola’s story, i buzzed right through in one day. maybe it was that lola. actually. had. something. she. liked. to. do. in my perspective, all anna ever did was cry and go to school and cry even more. lola actually likes to design clothing, and she actually has a story and a past.

two thoughts on lola’s story

#1: the star story

“And I hold my head high toward my big entrance, hand in hand with the boy who gave me the moon and the stars.”

i don’t know about you, but i absolutely loved the story that cricket gave lola about the stars. it made me sigh and cry and laugh and jump around the room even though i rarely have emotions(wait what). it was beautiful and i loved it oh so much and ahhhkjdkdjkfjdalkfjdklfjklfj it was amazing. read this. skip anna. don’t give a crap. actually, read anna and the french kiss, but don’t be let down! i love this!

#2: those. names.

“Lola?” Cricket is on his knees at the side of my bed. I feel it. “I’m here,” he whispers. “You can talk to me or not talk to me, but I’m here.”

those names. yes, i love the story. no, i don’t like the names. what is cricket? i’m sorry, but i don’t like it. i don’t understand how a descendant of alexander graham bell would name a person cricket. it doesn’t make sense. cricket. eww. stephanie, choose better names. etienne (whatever) st. clair. better names please. dolores. ew. lola’s not 8- years old. better name market, can i buy new names? anna oliphant. not elephant. new names, please. i hate these names i’m sorry.

overall, i’m actually pretty excited for isla (it’s like island but without the -nd). not is-la. eye-la. i just read the first two pages and was like okay then. ‘nother bad name. but i want to read it because this book left me shocked about how good it was. so i’m hoping isla and the happily ever after would make me feel the same way again.

Leave a Reply

