Ignite Me- Mafi, Tahereh

i understand i already reviewed this but this also has another part to it 🙂
reread on april 20, 2017

note: my overall [simple] rating for this novel has not changed

ignite me is the same as it was before honestly. it wasn’t horrible, but it still, in my opinion is not the best ending i have ever seen. there are some amazing things tahereh mafi excelled at, but some are lacking. i don’t mean to be negative, but to me, that’s how i analyzed this book and that’s how i’ll keep it.

the cover, however, is so pretty guys! the cover change in shatter me was an A+ change, and this is one of my favorite cover changes, and covers. Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3) by Tahereh Mafi

five thoughts on ignite me

#1: writing at its best

although there were some things that i did not enjoy at this book, the way that tahereh mafi writes is like an artwork. it’s so sophisticated and amazing and so detailed. it’s really beautiful to read, honestly. it’s like so amazing and ahh i love it. mafi’s writing is definitely one of the best things about this novel. and the entire series.

“And we are quotation marks, inverted and upside down, clinging to one another at the end of this life sentence. Trapped by lives we did not choose.”

#2: the love triangle

in ignite me, it consists of a very two-sided love triangle consisting of the protagonist, juliette, her ex, adam, and her new sorta lover, warner. adam wants juliette still even after they broke up because of his safety, [that d*ckhead], and juliette and warner are sort of falling in love with each other even after warner tried to kill her but he played the sympathy card and got her into him. it’s honestly obviously against adam, whom i hate now anyway, and it’s sort of like hopeless?? but i feel like although love is a medium issue of this book, i don’t think that juliette and warner should be making out while warner’s father is trying to kill them. just saying.

“It’s the kind of kiss that inspires stars to climb into the sky and light up the world.”

#3: character!! development!!

juliette’s development is one of the things i enjoyed a lot while the series progressed. she started out as a cowardly loner lodging in a cell to a strong individual who can tell off her clingy ex. YOU GO GIRL. but, i feel like juliette didn’t only grow a character all of a sudden. i feel like she had part of it hiding inside her when shatter me started, and was only able to grow out of her shell and expose that part when she was surrounded by people like her. remember, she was a loner, and she had nothing to speak to or speak with but a few words on a notebook page.

“Hey, um, I’m sorry to bother you, but I’m looking for a friend of mine,” he says. “Have you seen her? She’s a tiny little thing, cries a lot, spends too much time with her feelings-”
“Shut up, Kenji!”
“Oh wait!” he says. “It is you.”

#4: unlikely favorite characters

now i don’t really fall in love with minor characters but boy did i do it in ignite me. it makes me feel uncomfortable when i fall in love with characters that aren’t the main ones because it makes me worried, thinking that the characters aren’t lovable enough or they’re just plain annoying. which happens sometimes. now with the mains in ignite me, mainly adam, juliette, and warner, they’re not all horrible. adam is due to the fact that he’s a d&ck at the end of the series, warner is meh because of the first, and juliette… i don’t know. she’s a little too cowardly in the beginning to get to the badass females list but at the end.. boy. the badass shelf consists of this book because of one of the three favs, lily! my other two are james and brendan(?). i don’t know, but they seem soooooo… i don’t know. but i like lily, james, and brendan. don’t ask why.

“If I hear any of you talk,” Winston says. “I will personally send Brendan over to kick you in the face.”
“I am not going to kick anyone in the face.”
“Kick yourself in the face, Brendan.”
“I don’t even know why we’re friends.”

#5: the ending

the ending is one of the things i disliked about the book. it was too abrupt for me, and didn’t give this series the ending it quite deserved. now call me picky, but i can tell you other people who think the same. i don’t understand, it felt like it was such a rushed ending that the series never quite ended. i would like a book 4, just to see leader! juliette, but that’s probably not going to happen anyway.

“I am no longer afraid of fear, and I will not let it rule me.
Fear will learn to fear me.”

this is quite literally one of my longest reviews ever, possibly, but not maybe, beating crooked kingdom, and i’m surprised. it’s not that this book is not worthy of it, it’s just… different.

overall series rating: 4.3/5 stars
book rating: 4.7/5 stars

You can find this post and more on my Goodreads account :).

Instagram l WeHeartIt l Twitter l Tumblr l Wattpad l Instagram #2 l Bookstagram l Pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

